Supported artists 2023-2024

Discover the artists we are supporting this season. |

TECHNICAL RESIDENCY

Ford McKeown Larose

Propelled by the ideology of Boogaloo (a street dance style meaning "dance of freedom"), Forward Movements sets out to explore the spatial and rhythmic possibilities of dance movement. The company explores the mysteries of dynamics between bodies, spaces and sounds, creating intergalactic journeys where music, dance and cinema intertwine.

Shadows move in the half-light. The universe is heavy, charged, hostile.
A creature (or creatures) disarticulates itself in space.
The arid environment seems new, suspended, timeless.
Little by little, proposals emerge, imagined from the constraints.
A search then begins, made up of detuned rhythms, ephemeral alliances and a constant questioning of the proposed form.

Vanessa Brazeau

Choreographer, teacher and performer, Vanessa Brazeau has been involved in the Montreal dance scene since her graduation from the School of Toronto Dance Theatre in 2015. It was with the idea of democratizing contemporary dance and taking it out of the major centers that she set about creating her first show, Le Petit Prince. In 2022, she presented the first research phase of a new creative project entitled Charmantes at the Festival Quartiers Danse. In this project, she is interested in exploring different facets of her femininity. Vanessa seeks to tell a story through movement, which leads her to explore the fusion of dance with the art of photography and literature. She began a certificate in creative writing at the Université du Québec à Montréal, which she continues to study part-time. It's definitely her love of literature that inspires her to create: she integrates more and more writing processes into her work, through movement and the search for imagery.

From project to project, I realize that I'm obsessed with the themes of living together. Individual freedom is notorious for not being a societal good, and I like to observe, by creating a mini eco-system with performers, where the freedom of each collides with the freedom of the other. Between our desires and our reason, coupled with our education, our culture, and the idea we have of the others around us, we find ourselves in constant conflict and in a constant position of having to compromise, to adjust. What choices do we make when faced with the Other? What do we decide to let go of, or what do we hold on to? It's with these ideas in mind that I evolve in a certain aesthetic of movement.

STUDIO RESIDENCY

Diana León

Born in Mexico City, Diana trained at the Estudio de Ballet Tecamachalco, the National Ballet School of Cuba and the Royal Conservatory of The Hague. As a teenager, she discovered contemporary dance and studied various techniques alongside her classical training. After school, she became a dancer with Mexico's National Dance Company. Diana moved to Montreal to join Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, where she danced between 2014 and 2019. In 2015, Diana founded the company Vías, which she now co-directs with Paco Ziel and which has produced the works Sur ce chemin, tu es sûr de te perdre, Sabor de mi corazón, chapitre I: cumbia and Flesh and Sound. Diana has worked as a performer with choreographers on the Montreal scene such as Anne Plamondon, Martin Messier, Andrew Skeels and Sylvain Émard. Since 2016, she has been studying singing techniques with singer Mamselle Ruiz.

My work is rooted in the idea of art as a means of transcendence, understanding this to see it as an irrational experience of connection that goes beyond the mundane: the artist acts as a channel between the mystical unconscious and agreed reality. Using the body as my primary means of expression, my choreography draws on my training in various styles and disciplines, using tools from ballet, contemporary, partnering, floor work, improvisation, psychophysical states and singing. Aesthetically, the result is a three-dimensional, unpredictable dance that highlights the contrasts between precision and abandonment, sensitivity and raw brutality. As for my relationship with the public, I aim to create work that is both profound and accessible. Influenced by experimental theater, I look for ways to make my shows more surprising, sensory, immersive and interactive. My main interests include healing through art, harmony with nature, archetypes, feminine experiences, magic, occultism and Latin American culture. I'm an environmentalist, and in the years to come I want to devote myself to art that is regenerative and sustainable in environmental, social and labor terms.

Nassim Lootij

Choreographer, performer, teacher and Laban notator, Nasim Lootij left Iran in 2006 to study dance in Paris. Since 2015 she has lived and worked in Montreal, where she co-founded the collective Vâtchik Danse with Kiasa Nazeran, playwright, researcher and performer. Their creations: Moi-Me-Man (2017), La Chute (2019), L'Inconsistance (In progress).

Inspired by art, the socio-political history of Iran and German Expressionism, Nasim tackled Middle Eastern issues in Moi-Me-Man (2017) and La Chute (2019), devising a new choreographic language. Witnessing the great human effort made since 2020 to survive Covid-19, she advances in L'Inconsistance new political issues and explores new choreographic fields.

Sebastian Kann

Sebastian Kann is based in Tiohtiá:ke. His interdisciplinary choreographic work mixes dance, text, and theatrical media. Fascinated by movement improvisation in performance, and by the pressures and possibilities of the theatre space, he aims at the production of performances which open space for ambivalence, in which what’s trippy about not-knowing links bodies up to problems and their unpredictable trajectories.

Topical Dance is enthusiastic and absurd. It sidles up to the very edge of the chasm separating the body, ambivalent and opaque, from the fantasy of its becoming transparent as a word. Peaking over that abyssal lip, it asks: what makes dance readable? And what’s behind our vigorous crush on readable dance, which we seem unable to satisfy nor jettison?

Lucy May

Lucy M. May is a New Brunswick born dance artist based in Tiohtiá:ke (Montréal) since 2003. Her creations have been programmed across Canada. As a performer, Lucy has honed a remarkable range through work with several iconic Canadian choreographers and mentorship in Krump under Jigsaw since 2018. Her studies in Contemporary dance were completed at EDCM and the Rotterdam Dance Academy.

Lucy’s work investigates the materiality of attention and human relationships to spaces. Improvisation resides at the heart of her practice, informed by her practice in Krump since 2016. “What binds micro to macro, macro to micro?”

Hélène Messier

A graduate of Concordia in choreography and of UQÀM for the Master's degree in dance, I have danced for Sarah Dell'ava, Katia-Marie Germain and Mario Veillette. As a choreographer, my work has been presented at Tangente (SOIE and D'où l'heureuse), Le Lieu-Centre en art actuel (Fouines), Zone Homa (Sleeping Bugs) and Quartiers Danses (Nébuleuse).

Driven by a quest to understand the human being, in its conditioned and spiritual dimension and in its relationship to the world, my artistic approach finds its foundations in the attentive presence of inner impulses. Strongly inspired by butô, my choreographic universes are profound, sensitive and poetic, sometimes playful and absurd.

FIRST STUDIO RESIDENCY

Rozenn Lecomte
acc. Catherine Gaudet

Rozenn Lecomte, a dance artist based in Tiohtià:ke/Montréal, is a graduate of the Université du Québec à Montréal. Shortly after graduating, she organized and participated in several underground events as a choreographer, performer and curator. She also produces the podcast Fil conducteur, where she talks to dance artists about various issues affecting the milieu.

Rozenn Lecomte's choreographic work is part of a political process of asserting the body in the face of fatality. In particular, she draws inspiration from the rock and punk movements to inscribe in the body a search for contestation and rebellion. As a choreographer of a space in constant mutation, Rozenn Lecomte is an artist of risky movement and presences confronted with failure.

Claire Pearl
acc. Sebastian Kann

Claire Pearl is a contemporary dance creator and performer from Tiohtiá:ke/ Mooniyang/ Montréal. She is fascinated by the transformative effects of imagination and language in the creation of new scenic worlds. Attracted by diverse experiences of the "real", she finds answers in the raw, in the flesh and, above all, in friction.

From an instinct that tends towards the strangeness of the self and the other, I attempt to create alternative universes by seeking out other ways of doing things, other modes of communication and other manifestations of desire. My creative impulses are often based on the poetic exploration of language in movement and image.

Molly Siboulet-Ryan
acc. Lucy Fandel

Molly Siboulet-Ryan is a Franco-Irish movement artist. In 2020, she began her creative project Bloom. She presented a first solo at Zemmourballet's Amène ta Chaise festival, as well as at the Termites festival with two infiltrative art performances in which she explored places and collected testimonies. She conceived a second solo during the Labo Libre residency in Quebec City.

Through her creative work, Molly attempts to heal the traumas caused by the Catholic Church and the patriarchal society in which women are systematically blamed. She extends her reflection on resilience by exploring the absurd and reappropriating the rituals of the Church.

STUDIO RESIDENCY CIRCUIT-EST
+ NYATA NYATA

Louise Michel Jackson

Louise Michel has been working for various independent artists in Quebec and Belgium for the past 20 years. She created her first project "STROKE" aka SHUDDER with Ben Fury (Brussels, 2016), followed by Bright Worms (Théâtre La Chapelle 2021 and OFFTA 2023), a research project on bioluminescence integrating video projection and lighting devices in collaboration with sound artist Magali Babin.

Fascinated by women's ability not only to bear life, but also to generate infinite resources of fluids, both through their biological capacity to cum (fountain women) and through their ability to make the world more fluid, Geysers is an investigation into the fantastic turbulence of buried phenomena that explode and erupt from the depths.

Catherine Wilson + Olivia Jaen Flores

Our collective, Entre|Nos, founded in 2022, is made up of Catherine Wilson and Olivia Jaen Flores. We are both creators and performers of contemporary dance. 

 

Coming from different cultural backgrounds (Mexican-Canadian and Franco-Anglo), our collaboration translates through the interweaving of our knowledge, ethnicities and individual identities, which inevitably end up being reflected in our work.

We aim to physically explore the infinite possibilities of continuous pathways that transform our bodies. Our inspiration comes from one of Olivia's dreams, in which the venous cartography of a woman's body is revealed. We see the flow of blood, circulating endlessly. This imagery opens up a universe that allows us to explore the flow that eternally travels through our veins.

Mara Dupas

Mara Dupas is a French-Canadian artist of Martinican origin. A graduate of the École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal, they worked as a performer with Louise Bédard, Rhodnie Désir and Charlie Prince, and created their first piece in 2022: Dépi Temps. Their work explores métissage, caribbean culture and absurdity.

I draw inspiration from Afro-Caribbean literature and folk dances to create narrative and engaged works that explore the relationship between individual(s), culture and environment. I mainly use writing and choreographic creation as mediums that enable me to speak out on societal issues.

MENTORSHIP

Lauranne Faubert-Guay
mentor: Caroline Laurin-Beaucage

Lauranne is a transdisciplinary artist trained in visual arts, sociology, and working as a choreographer and performer in contemporary dance. Since 2019, Lauranne has received support from several dance institutions for her choreographic creations, which are mainly performed in Montreal and the Outaouais region. Lauranne is also the founder of Devenir(s) corps, a residency and practice space for the performing arts in the Outaouais region.

Sensitive to the urgent need to change our way of being-in-the-world, notably by adopting a minimalist lifestyle, Lauranne is more specifically interested in the ascetic body and its capacity for self-sufficiency. Her artistic work is part of a praxis in search of empowerment. It is distinguished by a gestural style that is both gentle and violent, at the crossroads of trial and emancipation, effort and satisfaction.

 

 

ADVANCED TRAINING SUPPORT

Nicole Jacobs

Nicole Jacobs is a member of Curve Lake First Nation and Tiohtià:ke (Montréal) based dancer, instructor, and choreographer. Nicole graduated in 2016 with a BFA from Concordia University’s contemporary dance program. In addition to her own creative projects, Nicole has had the privilege of participating in creations by Theatre Junction, Sébastien Cossette-Masse, Aviv Arts Co., and Maude Lecours.

Sarah Germain

Sarah Germain is a dance artist based in Tiohtià:ke - Montreal. Trained in contemporary dance at UQAM, she has worked alongside Caroline Laurin-Beaucage, Alan Lake and Rhodnie Désir. A curious and intuitive artist, she wishes to continue enriching her practice as a performer-creator through the celebration of the instability of the dancing body as a means of getting closer to fundamental being.

Mya Thérésa Métellus
Offered by Circuit-Est 's members

Originally from Tiohtià:ke (Montreal), Mya Thérésa Métellus is a performer at heart. Graduating from the École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal in 2023, the creative processes of Julie Artacho, RD creation and Compagnie OREDANS warmly welcomed them into the professional world. Mya strives to carry their artistic singularity into all their encounters, as well as delving into their Haitian origins.

Camil Bellefleur

Having completed their training at the École de danse contemporaine de Montréal, Camil Bellefleur has danced with LA TRESSE collective, Clara Furey, Daina Ashbee and Charlie Prince. Camil presented their solo First Layers at Danses Buissonnières 2022. They are also working on the creation of a collective with Julianne Decerf and on their first work.

ADVANCED TRAINING - CRUSH

Maxwell Hanic

Max is a multidisciplinary artist from Edmonton, Alberta. He studied at the University of Alberta in their Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting program and at La Faktoria Choreographic Centre in Pamplona, Spain. He has worked as a performer with the Good Women Dance Collective, Edmonton Opera, Susanna Hood, Daniel Abreu and Minggao Zhang.

Credits: Ford McKeown Larose © Clemence Clara Faure - Vanessa Brazeau - Diana León © Elena Samuel - Nasim Lootij © Kiasa Nazeran - Sebastian Kann © Sebastian Kann - Lucy May © Calope - Hélène Messier © Maxim Morin - Rozenn Lecomte © Pénélope Ducharme - Claire Pearl © Claire Pearl - Molly Siboulet-Ryan © Léa Le Berre - Louise Michel Jackson - Olivia Jaén Flores © Marie-Ève Dion - Catherine Wilson © Laura Tencer - Matisse Dupas © Bianka Pierre - Lauranne Faubert-Guay © Vanessa Bezman - Nicole Jacobs © Robert Majewski - Sarah Germain © Jeanne Tétreault - Mya Thérésa Métellus © Julie Artacho - Camil Bellefleur © Justine Bellefeuille - Maxwell Hanic © Janice Saxon

Partner of the program Support for artists

Artistes soutenu·es 2023-2024

Découvrez les artistes qui reçoivent notre soutien cette saison.

RÉSIDENCES TECHNIQUE

Ford McKeown Larose

Propulsée par l’idéologie du Boogaloo (style de street dance signifiant « danse de la liberté »), Forward Movements part à la recherche des possibilités spatiales et rythmiques du mouvement dansé. La compagnie défriche les mystères des dynamiques entre les corps, espaces et sons, crée des voyages intergalactiques où s’enlacent musique, danse et cinéma.

Des ombres se meuvent dans la pénombre. L’univers est lourd, chargé, hostile.
Une (des) créature(s) se désarticule dans l’espace.
L’environnement aride semble neuf, suspendu, hors temps. 
Peu à peu des propositions émergent, imaginées depuis les contraintes.
Débute alors une recherche faite de rythmes désaccordés, d’alliances éphémères et de remise en question, toujours, de la forme proposée.

Vanessa Brazeau

Chorégraphe, enseignante et interprète, Vanessa Brazeau est engagée dans le milieu de la danse à Montréal depuis l'obtention de son diplôme à la School of Toronto Dance Theatre en 2015. C’est avec l’idée de démocratiser la danse contemporaine et la sortir des grands centres qu’elle entreprend la création de son premier spectacle, Le Petit Prince. En 2022, elle présente la première phase de recherche d'un nouveau projet de création intitulé Charmantes au Festival Quartiers Danse. Dans ce projet, elle s’intéresse à explorer différentes facettes de sa féminité. Vanessa cherche à raconter par le mouvement, ce qui l’amène à s’intéresser à la fusion de la danse avec la photographie et la littérature. Elle entreprend d’ailleurs un certificat en création littéraire à l’Université du Québec à Montréal qu’elle continue à temps partiel. C’est définitivement son amour pour la littérature qui l’inspire à créer, elle intègre dans son travail de plus en plus de procédés d’écriture à travers le mouvement et la recherche d’imageries.

De projet en projet, je réalise avoir une obsession autour des thématiques du vivre ensemble. La liberté individuelle est bien connue pour ne pas être un bien de la société et j’aime observer, en créant un mini écosystème avec des interprètes, où la liberté de chacune d’entre elles vient se heurter à la liberté de l’autre. Entre nos désirs et notre raison, jumelés avec notre éducation, notre culture, et l’idée que nous avons des autres qui nous entourent, nous nous retrouvons constamment en conflit et en position de devoir faire des compromis, de s’ajuster. Quels sont les choix que nous faisons face à l’Autre ?  Que décidons-nous de laisser tomber, ou sur quoi s’accroche-t-on ? C’est avec ces idées en tête que j’évolue dans une certaine esthétique de mouvements. 

 

RÉSIDENCES STUDIO

Diana León

Née à Mexico, Diana s'est formée à l'Estudio de Ballet Tecamachalco, à l'École Nationale de Ballet de Cuba et au Conservatoire Royal de La Haye. Adolescente, elle découvre la danse contemporaine et étudie diverses techniques parallèlement à sa formation classique. Après ses études, elle a dansé au sein de la Compagnie Nationale de Danse du Mexique. Diana s’installe ensuite à Montréal pour se joindre aux Grands Ballets Canadiens, où elle danse de 2014 à 2019. En 2015, Diana fonde la compagnie Vías, qu’elle co-dirige maintenant avec Paco Ziel et qui a produit les œuvres Sur ce chemin, tu es sûre de te perdre, Sabor de mi corazón, chapitre I : cumbia et Flesh and Sound. Diana a travaillé comme interprète avec des chorégraphes de la scène montréalaise tels qu'Anne Plamondon, Martin Messier, Andrew Skeels et Sylvain Émard. Depuis 2016, elle étudie des techniques de chant avec la chanteuse Mamselle Ruiz. 

Mon travail est ancré dans l'idée de l'art comme moyen de transcendance, comme une expérience de connexion non rationnelle qui va au-delà du banal. L'artiste agit en tant que canal entre l'inconscient mystique et la réalité convenue. Utilisant le corps comme principal moyen d'expression, ma chorégraphie se nourrit de ma formation dans divers styles et disciplines, utilisant des outils issus du ballet, du contemporain, du partnering, du travail au sol, de l'improvisation, des états psychophysiques et du chant. Esthétiquement, le résultat est une danse tridimensionnelle et imprévisible qui met en évidence les contrastes entre précision et abandon, entre sensibilité et crudité.

Quant à la relation avec le public, je cherche à réaliser un travail à la fois profond et accessible. Influencée par le théâtre expérimental, je cherche des moyens de faire de mes spectacles des expériences plus surprenantes, sensorielles, immersives et interactives. Parmi mes principaux intérêts figurent la guérison à travers l'art, l'harmonie avec la nature, les archétypes, les expériences féminines, la magie, l'occultisme et la culture latino-américaine. Je suis une écologiste et dans les années à venir, je souhaite me consacrer à l'art régénérateur et durable en termes environnementaux, sociaux et de travail. 

Nassim Lootij

Chorégraphe, interprète, enseignante et notatrice Laban, Nasim Lootij a quitté l’Iran en 2006 pour étudier la danse à Paris. Depuis 2015 elle vit et travail à Montréal où elle a cofondé le collectif Vâtchik Danse avec Kiasa Nazeran, dramaturge, chercheur et interprète. Leurs créations : Moi-Me-Man (2017), La Chute (2019), L'Inconsistance (En cours).

Inspirée par l’art, l’histoire socio-politique d’Iran et l’expressionnisme allemand, Nasim aborda dans Moi-Me-Man (2017) et La Chute (2019), les enjeux moyen-orientaux en concevant un nouveau langage chorégraphique. Témoin du grand effort humain mené dès 2020 afin de survivre à la Covid-19, elle avance dans L’Inconsistance de nouvelles problématiques politiques et explore de nouveaux champs chorégraphiques.

Sebastian Kann

Sebastian Kann est basé à Tiohtiá:ke. Son travail chorégraphique interdisciplinaire mêle la danse, le texte et les médias théâtraux. Fasciné par l'improvisation du mouvement dans la performance, et par les pressions et les possibilités de l'espace théâtral, il cherche à produire des performances qui ouvrent l'espace à l'ambivalence, dans lesquelles ce qui est trippant dans le fait de ne pas savoir relie les corps aux problèmes et à leurs trajectoires imprévisibles.

Topical Dance est enthousiaste et absurde. Il s'approche du bord du gouffre qui sépare le corps, ambivalent et opaque, du fantasme de sa transparence en tant que mot. Par-dessus ce bord abyssal, il pose la question suivante : qu'est-ce qui rend la danse lisible ? Et qu'est-ce qui se cache derrière notre amour vigoureux pour la danse lisible, que nous semblons incapables de satisfaire ou d'abandonner ?

Lucy May

Lucy M. May est une artiste de la danse née au Nouveau-Brunswick et établie à Tiohtiá:ke (Montréal) depuis 2003. Ses créations ont été programmées à travers le Canada. En tant qu'interprète, Lucy a développé une gamme remarquable grâce à son travail avec plusieurs chorégraphes canadiens emblématiques et à sa pratique du Krump sous Jigsaw depuis 2018. Ses études en danse contemporaine ont été complétées à l'EDCM et au Rotterdam Dance Academy.

L'œuvre de Lucy étudie la matérialité de l'attention et les relations humaines aux lieux. L'improvisation réside au cœur de sa pratique, alimentée par sa pratique du Krump depuis 2016. « En quoi le micro au macro et le macro au micro sont-ils liés ? »

Hélène Messier

Diplômée de l'Université Concordia en chorégraphie et de l'Université du Québec à Montréal pour la maîtrise en danse, Hélène a dansé pour Sarah Dell’Ava, Katia-Marie Germain, Mario Veillette. Comme chorégraphe, son travail a été présenté à Tangente (SOIE et D’où l’heureuse), au Le Lieu -centre en art actuel (Fouines), à Zone Homa (Sleeping Bugs) et à Quartiers Danses (Nébuleuse). 

Portée par une quête de compréhension de l’être humain, dans sa dimension conditionnée et spirituelle et dans sa relation au monde, ma démarche artistique trouve ses fondements dans la présence attentive aux impulsions intérieures. Fortement inspirée du butô, mes univers chorégraphiques sont profonds, sensibles et poétiques, parfois ludiques et absurdes. 

PREMIÈRE RÉSIDENCE STUDIO 

Rozenn Lecomte
acc. Catherine Gaudet

Rozenn Lecomte, artiste en danse basée à Tiohtià:ke/Montréal, est diplômée de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Peu après sa sortie de l’école, elle organise et participe à plusieurs événements underground en tant que chorégraphe, interprète et commissaire. Elle réalise aussi le balado Fil conducteur, où elle discute avec des artistes de la danse des différents enjeux concernant le milieu.

Le travail chorégraphique de Rozenn Lecomte s’inscrit dans une démarche politique de revendication du corps face à la fatalité. Il s’inspire notamment des mouvements rock et punk pour inscrire dans le corps une recherche de la contestation et de la rébellion. Chorégraphe d’un espace en constante mutation, Rozenn Lecomte est artiste du mouvement risqué et des présences confrontées à l’échec.

Claire Pearl
acc. Sebastian Kann

Claire Pearl est une créatrice et interprète en danse contemporaine originaire de Tiohtiá:ke/ Mooniyang/ Montréal. Elle est fascinée par les effets transformateurs de l'imagination et du langage dans la création de nouveaux univers scéniques. Attirée par les diverses expériences du « vrai », elle y trouve des réponses dans le brut, dans la chair et, surtout, dans la friction.

À partir d’un instinct qui tend vers l’étrangeté du soi et de l’autre, je tente de créer des univers alternatifs en allant à la rencontre d'autres manières de faire, d'autres modes de communications et d'autres manifestations de l’envie et du désir. Mes impulsions créatives sont souvent basées sur l'exploration poétique du langage en mouvement et en image.

Molly Siboulet-Ryan
acc. Lucy Fandel

Molly Siboulet-Ryan est une artiste en mouvement Franco-Irlandaise. En 2020, elle entame son projet de création Bloom. Elle présente un premier solo au festival Amène ta Chaise du Zemmourballet, ainsi qu'au festival Termites avec deux performances d’art infiltratif où elle explore des lieux et des témoignages récoltés. Elle conçoit un second solo lors de la résidence Labo Libre à Québec.

Par son travail de création, Molly tente de guérir les traumatismes causés par l'Église catholique et la société patriarcale dans laquelle les femmes sont systématiquement blâmées. Elle prolonge sa réflexion sur la résilience, par une exploration de l’absurde et la réappropriation des rituels de l’Église.

RÉSIDENCES STUDIO CIRCUIT-EST
+ NYATA NYATA

Louise Michel Jackson

Depuis 20 ans, Louise Michel travaille pour différent·es artistes indépendant·es du Québec et de la Belgique. Elle crée son premier projet « STROKE » aka SHUDDER avec Ben Fury (Bruxelles, 2016) puis Bright Worms (Théâtre La Chapelle 2021 et OFFTA 2023), une recherche sur la bioluminescence avec intégration de projection vidéo et dispositifs lumineux en collaboration avec l’artiste sonore Magali Babin.

Fascinée par la capacité des femmes à non seulement porter la vie, mais à également générer des ressources infinies de fluides, tant par leur capacité biologique de jouir (femmes fontaines) que par leur aptitude à rendre le monde plus fluide, Geysers est une recherche autour de la turbulence fantastique de phénomènes enfouis qui explosent et surgissent des profondeurs. 

Catherine Wilson + Olivia Jaen Flores

Notre collectif Entre|Nos, fondé en 2022, est composé de Catherine Wilson et d'Olivia Jaen Flores. Nous assumons toutes les deux les rôles de créatrices et d'interprètes en danse contemporaine. 

 

Issues de cultures différentes (franco-anglo et mexicaine-canadienne) notre collaboration se traduit à travers l’entrelacement de nos connaissances, ethnicités et identités qui finissent par se refléter immanquablement dans notre travail.

Nous visons a explorer physiquement des possibilités infinies de chemins continus qui transforment notre corps. Notre inspiration prend sa source d’un rêve d’Olivia où la cartographie veineuse du corps d’une femme est dévoilée. On y voit le flux sanguin, circulant à l’infini. Cette imagerie nous ouvre un univers qui nous permet d’explorer ce flux qui voyage éternellement dans nos veines. 

Mara Dupas

Mara Dupas est un·e artiste franco-canadienne d’origine martiniquaise. Diplômé·e de l’École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal, iel collabore en tant qu’interprète avec Louise Bédard, Rhodnie Désir et Charlie Prince, et signe en 2022 sa première création : Dépi Temps. Son travail explore le métissage, la culture antillaise et l’absurdité.

"Je m’inspire de la littérature et des danses folkloriques afro-caribéennes dans le but de créer des œuvres narratives et engagées, qui explorent le rapport entre individu(s), culture et environnement. J’utilise principalement l’écriture et la création chorégraphique comme mediums me permettant de prendre la parole sur des enjeux sociétaux."

MENTORAT

Lauranne Faubert-Guay
mentore : Caroline Laurin-Beaucage

Sensible face à l’urgence de changer notre façon d’être-au-monde, notamment par l’adoption d’un mode de vie minimaliste, Lauranne s’intéresse plus précisément au corps ascétique et à sa capacité d’autosuffisance. Au cœur de son travail se trouvent donc les notions d'écologie, d'autonomie et d’empuissancement. On le distingue par une gestuelle à la fois douce et violente, à la croisée de l’épreuve et de l’émancipation, de l’effort et de la satisfaction.

Lauranne est une artiste transdisciplinaire formée en arts visuels, en sociologie et œuvrant dans le milieu de la danse contemporaine. Depuis 2019, Lauranne obtient du soutien de plusieurs institutions de la danse pour réaliser ses créations chorégraphiques, principalement diffusées à Montréal et en Outaouais. Lauranne est également fondatrice de l’organisme Devenir(s) corps, un espace de résidence et de pratique des arts vivants situé en Outaouais.

SOUTIEN AU PERFECTIONNEMENT

Nicole Jacobs

Nicole Jacobs est membre de la Première Nation de Curve Lake et danseuse, enseignante et chorégraphe basée à Tiohtià:ke (Montréal). Nicole a obtenu en 2016 un baccalauréat en beaux-arts du programme de danse contemporaine de l'Université Concordia. En plus de ses propres projets créatifs, Nicole a eu le privilège de participer à des créations de Theatre Junction, Sébastien Cossette-Masse, Aviv Arts Co. et Maude Lecours.

Sarah Germain

Sarah Germain est une artiste en danse basée à Tiohtià:ke – Montréal. Formée en danse contemporaine à l’UQAM, elle évolue notamment aux côtés de Caroline Laurin-Beaucage, d’Alan Lake et de Rhodnie Désir. Artiste curieuse et intuitive, elle désire continuer à enrichir sa pratique d’interprète-créatrice à travers la célébration de l’instabilité du corps dansant comme moyen pour se rapprocher de l’être fondamental.

Mya Thérésa Métellus
Offert par les membres de Circuit-Est

Originaire de Tiohtià:ke (Montréal), Mya Thérésa Métellus est interprète de cœur. Diplômé de l’École de Danse Contemporaine de Montréal en 2023, les processus créatifs de Julie Artacho, RD creation et Compagnie OREDANS l’accueillent chaleureusement à son entrée dans le milieu professionnel. Mya tente de transporter sa singularité artistique dans toutes ses rencontres, ainsi que plonger dans ses origines haïtiennes.

Camil Bellefleur

Ayant complété sa formation à l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal, Camil Bellefleur a dansé auprès du collectif LA TRESSE, de Clara Furey, de Daina Ashbee et de Charlie Prince. Camil a présenté son solo First Layers à Danses Buissonnières 2022. Iel travaille également à la création d’un collectif avec Julianne Decerf et sur leur première création.

PERFECTIONNEMENT - COUP DE COEUR

Max Hanic

Max est un artiste multidisciplinaire qui vient d'Edmonton, Alberta. Il a étudié à l'Université d'Alberta dans leur programme de baccalauréat de beaux-arts en acting et à La Faktoria Choreographic Centre à Pampelune, Espagne. Il a travaillé comme interprète avec le Good Women Dance Collective, L'opéra d'Edmonton, Susanna Hood, Daniel Abreu et Minggao Zhang.

Crédits : Ford McKeown Larose © Clemence Clara Faure - Vanessa Brazeau - Diana León © Elena Samuel - Nasim Lootij © Kiasa Nazeran - Sebastian Kann © Sebastian Kann - Lucy May © Calope - Hélène Messier © Maxim Morin - Rozenn Lecomte © Pénélope Ducharme - Claire Pearl © Claire Pearl - Molly Siboulet-Ryan © Léa Le Berre - Louise Michel Jackson - Olivia Jaén Flores © Marie-Ève Dion - Catherine Wilson © Laura Tencer - Matisse Dupas © Bianka Pierre - Lauranne Faubert-Guay © Vanessa Bezman - Nicole Jacobs © Robert Majewski - Sarah Germain © Jeanne Tétreault - Mya Thérésa Métellus © Julie Artacho - Camil Bellefleur © Justine Bellefeuille - Maxwell Hanic © Janice Saxon

Partenaire du programme Soutien aux artistes