2018-2019 SUPPORTED ARTISTS

TECHNICAL RESIDENCIES

EMILE PINEAULT

Normal Desires is a creation halfway between dance and acrobatics that invites the viewer to sneak under the skin of the acrobat. On stage, a single figure lives a constant overflow, its contours disturbed by a kinetic ecstasy. Impact, flow, repeat, stress, compression, thrust, heat, vibration make us travel through a series of states and emotional spaces. Unusual forms emerge, at once carnal, rigorous and mesmerizing. Mobilizing not only the body, but also the powerful technologies of this theatrical space, Normal Desires shares a sensory experience of acrobatics, both subtle and intense.

Normal Desires  will be presented as part of the 37th season of Danse-Cité. 
November 22. 23. 24 + 27. 28. 29. 30 + December 1, 2018 
La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines 
A production of Danse-Cité in collaboration with Emile Pineault. With the financial support of the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec. 

Photo: Emile Pineault © Julien Brun

MARIA KEFIROVA

The Nutcracker is a piece for a dancer, a voice recorder, 4 speakers and 25 kg of walnuts. The nuts are used as material with a clear distinction between interior and exterior. The sound is used as a material without interior nor exterior. The body is the surface between the interior and the exterior. The body, the sound and the nuts will execute a series of dislocations and relocations, folding into each other in a process where sound will be a body and a performer of its own.

The Nutcracker | November, 12 – 14, 2018 | Théâtre la Chapelle

Photo: Maria Kefirova © Svetla Atanasova

STUDIO RESIDENCIES

AMÉLIE RAJOTTE

La possibilité d’une tragédie is a performative piece that takes place in the heart of an oasis of plants. It consists of an immersive experience where the senses of the viewer (sight, hearing, smell) will be stimulated with the sound and scenic device. The sound is produced by the electric frequencies emitted by the plants and the performers manipulating them. Through the use of gardening, the piece explores the special relationship that develops between a creator and his/her idealized world, a world becoming an extension of his/her desires and emotions, and which can crumble at any moment.

La possibilité d'une tragédie | December 20, 2018 | Maison de la culture du Plateau Mont-Royal
La possibilité d'une tragédie | January 24 – 27, 2019 | Tangente

Photo: Amélie Rajotte © Nelly-Ève Rajotte 

KATIA-MARIE GERMAIN

Chambres is a research and creation project inspired by the works of the Franco-Algerian painter, Djamel Tatah. Within a stage device illuminated by a video projector, this project tackles the role of colour for its ability to suggest the loss of spatial and temporal references and to transform daily lives. With the simple act of folding and unfolding sheets as a starting point, it opens reflections about the relation with intimacy, memory and habits.

Photo: Katia-Marie Germain © Justine Latour 

SARA HANLEY

In La théorie des ensembles-partie deux, a sighted performer and a blind performer travel in an in-between where the boundaries existing between states, spaces, poetics and animal, mineral and vegetal reigns are dismantled and recomposed.

Photo: Kaitlyn Ramsden

 

 

NICOLAS PATRY

PERFORMER: the one who dances, the one who moves, who bends and curves, who bends over, who sweats... The one who warms up, who contracts, runs and throws himself. The one who questions, who assists, who receives, who follows, who expresses, who proposes, who sighs, who bites, who sings, who looks and who is looked at. The one who seeks, who believes, who inspires, who creates, who listens, who is listened to, who condemns, the one who affirms, who moves forward and who steps back, that one... The performer who commissions a choreographic research to three Montreal artists. The performer who commits to a process where, usually, he is less solicited. The performer who imposes his obsession for intimacy and for the meeting...

Photo: Nicolas Patry © Philippe Poirier

FOR FAUVE (Marilyn Daoust and Laurie-Anne Langis)

« & »: two solos, two hemispheres. At times vulnerable, sometimes strong, two women vacillate between authenticity and multiple layers of social construction. Their presence is rooted in magnetism, vibrations, automatic reflexes, interferences, and the tuning of oneself with the other. As they stand on the edge, the same mythical ocean that stands between them unites them.

« & » | November 8 – 11, 2018 | Tangente

Photo: Laurie-Anne Langis, Marilyn Daoust © Jules Bédard 

 

MENTORSHIPS

CHARLES BRECARD

The first step of this creation will be the skeleton of a solo, choregraphed and performed by Charles Brecard. Taking inspiration from various concepts and reflections explored in a previous solo, the work will attempt to expose questionings about the human being, the duality which may exist between dementia and reason, and between sensibility and violence. Charles Brecard will work with Mélanie Demers to explore in depth his artistic world.

Photo: Charles Brecard © Stéphane Pilon

CLAUDIA CHAN TAK

KOI explores the traditional and popular world of Asian carps through the meeting of dance with video-projection as a light source. On stage, five women turn into charming and contemplation objects. The movement generated by the light awakes their physicality. From this a powerful feminine and sensual force emerges, reminding the koi’s, the only fish who can swim up the yellow river’s falls to turn into a dragon. Claudia Chan Tak will be working under the mentorship of Alice Ronfard.

Photo : Claudia Chan Tak

SOUTIEN À L'ENTRAINEMENT

.

Three dancers are invited to have complimentary access to all our activities. This year, our ten member companies offered a support for advanced training to Leïla Mailly while Circuit-Est gave one to Roxanne Dupuis and to Penélope Desjardins.

Photos: Leïla Mailly © Julie Artacho – Penélope Desjardins © Claudia Chan Tak – Roxanne Dupuis © Julie Artacho

..........

.
Partner of our Support for Artists program

..........

Photo: Emile Pineault © Romain Huck

ARTISTES SOUTENUS 2018-2019

RÉSIDENCES TECHNIQUE

EMILE PINEAULT

Normal Desires est une création à mi-chemin entre danse et acrobatie qui invite le spectateur à se faufiler sous la peau de l’acrobate. Sur scène, une figure seule est en constant débordement, ses contours troublés par une extase cinétique. L’impact, le flux, la répétition, la contrainte, la compression, la poussée, la chaleur, la vibration nous font voyager à travers une série d'états et d'espaces affectifs. Des formes inhabituelles émergent, à la fois charnelles, rigoureuses et hypnotisantes. Mobilisant non seulement le corps, mais aussi les puissantes technologies de cet espace théâtral, Normal Desires partage une expérience sensorielle de l’acrobatie, à la fois subtile et intense.

Normal Desires (extrait)
30 – 31 mai 2018
OFFTA – Edifice Wilder 

Normal Desires (intégrale, 60 minutes) sera présentée dans le cadre de la 37e saison de Danse-Cité. 
22. 23. 24 + 27. 28. 29. 30 novembre + 1er décembre 2018 
Danse-Cité – La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines 
Une production de Danse-Cité en collaboration avec Emile Pineault. Avec le soutien financier du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec. 

Photo : Emile Pineault © Julien Brun

MARIA KEFIROVA

The Nutkracker est une pièce pour danseuse, enregistreur vocal, quatre hautparleurs et 25 kg de noix de Grenoble. Les noix sont utilisées comme matière ayant une claire distinction entre intérieur et extérieur. Le son est utilisé en tant que matière sans intérieur ni extérieur. Le corps est la surface entre l'intérieur et l'extérieur. Corps, son et noix exécuteront une série de dislocations et de déplacements, se fondant les uns dans les autres, dans un processus où le son deviendra corps à part entière.

Photo : Maria Kefirova © Svetla Atanasova

RÉSIDENCES STUDIO

AMÉLIE RAJOTTE

La possibilité d’une tragédie est une pièce performative qui se déroule au cœur d’une oasis de plantes. Elle consiste en une expérience immersive où les sens du spectateur (vue, ouïe, odorat) seront stimulés grâce au dispositif sonore et scénique. Le son est généré par les fréquences électriques émises par les plantes et les manipulations des performeuses sur celles-ci. Par l’utilisation du jardinage, la pièce met en relief la relation particulière qui s’installe entre un créateur/rice et son monde idéalisé, un monde devenant une extension de ses désirs et émotions, et qui peut s’écrouler à tout moment.

Photo : Amélie Rajotte © Caroline Desilets 

KATIA-MARIE GERMAIN

Chambres est un projet de recherche et de création qui s’inspire des œuvres du peintre franco-algérien Djamel Tatah. Au sein d’un dispositif scénique éclairé par un projecteur vidéo, ce projet aborde le rôle de la couleur pour sa capacité à suggérer une perte de repères spatiaux et temporels de même qu’à transformer le quotidien. Prenant comme point de départ les actions simples de plier et déplier les draps, il ouvre des réflexions sur le rapport à l’intime, à la mémoire et aux habitudes.

Photo : Katia-Marie Germain © Justine Latour 

SARA HANLEY

La théorie des ensembles est une performance solo qui situe le corps de l’interprète dans un entre-deux où se démantèle et se recompose le tracé des frontières entre états, espaces, règnes et poétiques. Se déployant dans une atmosphère intimiste, cette performance propose, avec le simple jeu d’une corde, la formation d’ensembles comme sites d’émergence de nouveaux infinis à partir desquels surgissent des relations multiples.

Photo : Kaitlyn Ramsden

NICOLAS PATRY

L’INTERPRÈTE ; celui qui danse, celui qui bouge, qui se courbe, qui se plie, qui se penche, qui sue… Celui qui s’échauffe, qui se réchauffe, celui qui s’étire, se contracte et se lance. Celui qui questionne, qui assiste, qui reçoit, qui suit, qui propose, qui regarde et qui est regardé. Celui qui cherche, qui croit, qui crée, qui condamne, celui qui affirme, qui avance et celui qui recule… L’interprète commande une œuvre à trois chorégraphes montréalais. L’interprète s’engage dans le processus là où habituellement il est moins sollicité. L’interprète impose son obsession pour l’Intimité : point de départ des rencontres, point de départ pour dialoguer et créer ; « L’art d’aimer » de Erich Fromm

Photo : Nicolas Patry © Philippe Poirier

FOR FAUVE (Marilyn Daoust et Laurie-Anne Langis)

« & » : Deux solos, deux hémisphères. Tantôt vulnérables, tantôt fortes, deux femmes vacillent entre l’authenticité et les multiples couches de construction sociale. Leurs présences trouvent leurs racines dans le magnétisme, les vibrations, les automatismes, les interférences et les syntonisations entre soi et l’autre. En équilibre sur les frontières, un océan mythique les sépare et les relie. 

Photo : Laurie-Anne Langis © Jules Bédard 

 

MENTORATS

CHARLES BRECARD

Cette première étape de création constituera le squelette d’un solo, chorégraphié et interprété par Charles Brecard. Partant de divers concepts et pistes explorés lors d’un solo précédent, il tentera d’exposer son questionnement sur l’être humain, la dualité qu’il peut y avoir entre sa démence et sa raison, entre sa sensibilité et sa violence. Charles Brecard fera appel à Mélanie Demers afin d’explorer plus en profondeur son univers artistique.

Photo : Charles Brecard © Stéphane Pilon

CLAUDIA CHAN TAK

KOI explore l’univers traditionnel et populaire des carpes asiatiques par la rencontre entre la danse et la projection vidéo comme source de lumière. Sur scène, cinq femmes se transforment et se métamorphosent en objet de beauté et de contemplation. Le mouvement de la lumière réveille leur part d’animalité tout en y dégageant une puissante force féminine et sensuelle rappelant celle du koï, ce seul poisson pouvant remonter les chutes du fleuve jaune pour se transformer en dragon. Claudia Chan Tak travaillera sous le mentorat d’Alice Ronfard.

Photo : Claudia Chan Tak

SOUTIEN À L'ENTRAINEMENT

.
Trois interprètes sont invitées à participer gratuitement à toutes les activités de la saison. Cette année, nos dix compagnies membres offrent un soutien à l’entrainement à Leïla Mailly alors que Circuit-Est en attribue un à Roxanne Dupuis et à Penélope Desjardins.

Photos : Leïla Mailly © Julie Artacho – Penélope Desjardins © Claudia Chan Tak – Roxanne Dupuis © Julie Artacho

 

..........

.
Partenaire du programme de soutien aux artistes

..........

Photo : Emile Pineault © Romain Huck