OPEN LAB

Inspired by the initiative of La Maison pour la danse de Québec, the Open lab program seeks to promote research and development of the artistic approach. The four selected projects are those of : Milan GervaisKyana LyneMarie-Maxime Ross et Handy Yacinthe.

Milan Gervaisfonctionnalitécorpsféminin

« I wonder about the feminine identity that is made and transmitted through the body and language of dance. I want to question the language that I develop, more specifically through a duet of women, in order to put and articulate a sensitive and critical look on what it induces, suggests, namely which ‘feminine’ is it? »

June 7 to 18, 2021 – With Marine Rixhon and Jessica Serli

Kyana LyneTodas

« I am specifically interested in observing how we, as individual artists in a collaborative environment, can move with a common state of awareness. How we carry our conflict and the ways in which this affects one another…I am curious about the body’s complex vulnerabilities. »

March 8 to 19, 2021 – With Amara Barner, Miranda Chan and Sydney McManus

Marie-Maxime RossRecherche de collisions

« It was when I felt gusts of wind on my skin, swam through vast stretches of water, saw the sun reflect on the freshly fallen snow that I felt this contact with nature. I would like to recreate this living world through the memories of those moments, those states. »

April 26 to May 7, 2021 – With Étienne De Durocher and Annabelle Fournier

Handy YacintheOrganic Mechanics

« Organic Mechanics is a method that uses opposite polarities: rigidity and fluidity, control and letting go, robotics and humans. This residency is an opportunity to start a choreographic work that has been calling me for some years. I want to put street dance on stage without distorting it. »

April 5 to 16, 2021 – With Kevin Gohou and Marie-Reine Kabasha

Photos : Jessica Serli and Marine Rixhon © Milan Gervais – Kyana Lyne © Maureen Rouge – Marie-Maxime Ross © Étienne De Durocher – Monstapop © Clément Dietz

LABO LIBRE

Inspiré de l’initiative de La Maison pour la danse de Québec, le programme Labo libre cherche à favoriser la recherche et le développement de la démarche artistique. Les quatre projets retenus pour la saison 2020-2021 sont ceux de : Milan GervaisKyana LyneMarie-Maxime Ross et Handy Yacinthe.

Milan Gervaisfonctionnalitécorpsféminin

« Je me questionne sur l’identité féminine qui se fabrique et se transmet à travers le corps et le langage de la danse. Je souhaite questionner le langage que je développe, plus spécifiquement dans un duo de femmes, afin de poser et articuler un regard sensible et critique sur ce qu’il induit, suggère, à savoir de quel “féminin” est-il question ? »

7 au 18 juin 2021 – Avec Marine Rixhon et Jessica Serli

Kyana LyneTodas

« Je m’intéresse particulièrement à la façon dont nous, en tant qu’artistes individuels dans un environnement de collaboration, pouvons bouger dans le même état de conscience. La façon dont nous portons nos conflits et comment cela se répercute sur les autres… Je suis intriguée par les vulnérabilités complexes du corps. »

8 au 19 mars 2021 – Avec Amara Barner, Miranda Chan et Sydney McManus

Marie-Maxime RossRecherche de collisions

« C’est en ayant senti des bourrasques de vent sur ma peau, nagée dans des étendues d’eau immenses, vu le soleil refléter sur la neige fraîchement tombée que j’ai senti ce contact avec la nature. J’aimerais recréer ce monde vivant en mouvement grâce aux souvenirs de ces moments, de ces états. »

26 avril au 7 mai 2021 – Avec Étienne De Durocher et Annabelle Fournier

Handy YacintheOrganic Mechanics

« Organic Mechanics est une méthode qui utilise des polarités opposées : la rigidité et la fluidité, le contrôle et le lâchée prise, la robotisation et l’humain. Cette résidence est une opportunité de commencer un travail chorégraphique qui depuis quelques années m'appelle. Je veux faire du “street dance” sur scène sans dénaturer celle-ci. »

5 au 16 avril 2021 – Avec Kevin Gohou et Marie-Reine Kabasha

Photos : Jessica Serli et Marine Rixhon © Milan Gervais – Kyana Lyne © Maureen Rouge – Marie-Maxime Ross © Étienne De Durocher – Monstapop © Clément Dietz