OFF-FTA

From May 31 to June 5, 2022

The 16th edition of the Festival TransAmériques (FTA) will take place from May 25 to June 9, 2022.

In addition to the official program, four Circuit-Est member companies and two guest choreographers are organizing artistic activities during the festival from May 31 to June 5, 2022, available to presenters by reservation.

Members companies

UNFOLD | 7 perspectives
Le Carré des Lombes

May 31 at 3 pm 
Studio Jeanne-Renaud
Duration : 75 minutes
Learn more about the work
developpement@artcirculation.org

UNFOLD | 7 perspectives is a work that is at once choreographic, scenographic and musical. These three language forms weave together, building chains of strength and tension between instability and movement, between disorder and geometry. Seven performers share their taste for the experiential and for extraordinary physical commitment, in an environment in constant transformation.

La Goddam Voie Lactée
MAYDAY

June 2 at 2 pm 
Studio Jeanne-Renaud
Duration : 75 minutes
Learn more about the work
airtable.com/shrJq9o56cmiWcNIv

La Goddam Voie Lactée’s reaction to the harshness and asperity of the world is to offer up a pagan mass. A celebration in the form of a challenge. Drawing inspiration from the constant mourning that marks our current age, Mélanie Demers dives into a reflection on the theme of incompleteness. An aesthetic little Big Bang, La Goddam Voie Lactée is an exercise in self-imagination, a means of finding our bearings in this imperfect and infinite world which is our common belonging and inheritance.

BESIDE
Conference-demonstration
maribé - sors de ce corps/Marie Béland

June 2 at 3:45 pm
Studio B
Extract of 30 minutes
In coproduction with Montréal Danse
Learn more about the work
https://airtable.com/shr3vl2evx9RYJHtz

Equipped with headphones, the three performers are the only ones hearing the retransmission of the radio stations in the city where the piece is presented. In order to communicate with the public and each other, they can only repeat the information in their headphones or reproduce a gestual score based from typical TV public affairs shows. Dispossessed of their bodies and their words, they try to live side by side ("beside") and build the credibility necessary to transmit a little truth where everything is false. If each performance is unique as it relies on live radio, the result is always the same: the media little by little pushes the performers into a void. It remains to be seen whether the public will be able to extricate themselves from it.

RADIOMATON
Participative installation
maribé - sors de ce corps/Marie Béland

June 3 and 4
from 11 am to 3 pm

at Galerie POPOP
Pre-premiere
In coproduction with Montréal Danse
Learn more about the work
https://airtable.com/shr4OeTpglxwxrt1u

Installed in an individual photobooth, and equipped with headphones broadcasting a local radio station, each user must repeat aloud all the words heard, while imitating the gestures that are displayed on the screen. This recorded performance, mingling movements and words that do not match together, is remixed in a kaleidoscope where all the participants intersect.

True sensory and immersive experience, RADIOMATON questions the construction of truth, media contamination, fake news and the role of the body in the perception of information.

Rhapsodie
Sylvain Émard Danse

June 3 at 3:30 pm
Studio Jeanne-Renaud
Duration : 60 minutes
Learn more about the work
https://www.spinnhirny.com/en/event-details/off-fta-rhapsodie

Propelled by indomitable energy, 20 dancers are surrounded by spectators, witnesses to the intrinsic force of the group, of a mass movement taking shape. A tribute to the liberating power of dance, Rhapsodie celebrates the life drive of beings dancing unself consciously, the subversive abandon of bodies on the dance floor. An intense, hard-hitting dance experience. 

Guest choreographers

J'ai pleuré avec les chiens
(TIME, CREATION, DESTRUCTION)

Daina Ashbee

June 4 at 1:30 pm
Studio A
Duration : 80 minutes
Learn more about the work
management@dainaashbee.com

Naked bodies, animal energy, immediate emotional states – in her first group piece, Daina Ashbee stages a human herd that oscillates between intense physicality and touching tenderness. The nudity exposes the tension of muscles, but also vulnerability, openness and transformation. The starting point is the exploration of a sensation: seeking solace in the embrace of one’s dog, howling with this companion species, diving into canine body states. At the same time emerges a ritual of cohabitation and dissolution of boundaries, transitory, fugitive – a space in which beings and things can constantly change. With sober precision, she reveals her unmistakable trademark: the poetics of explosion and the power of trance.

SANS RIEN FORCER
Hélène Remoué

June 5 at 1:30 pm
Studio A
Duration : 30 minutes
Learn more about the work
heleneremoue@gmail.com

This ironically titled solo is a modern odyssey drawing from the frenzied energy of rock concerts and the phantasmagorical depths of dreams. Wind, shadow and light draw the powerful and emphatic life-size journey of the dancer on stage. Making way for her inner idol, she is transformed before our eyes. With brute and magnetic force, her visceral, explosive and rousing movements reveal a self that is victorious, celebrated, and free. An invitation to discover oneself anew, rising to the colossal and grandiose heights of a Hercules or Jimi Hendrix.

THE LOCATIONS

Studio Jeanne-Renaud
Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique, édifice Jean-Pierre-Perreault
2022, Sherbrooke East street, Montréal / Tiohtiá:ke (Québec) H2K 1B9

Studio A and B
Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique, espace Saint-André
1881, Saint-André street, Montréal / Tiohtiá:ke (Québec) H2L 3T9

Galerie POPOP
Espace 442-444

372 Sainte-Catherine West street, Montréal / Tiohtiá:ke, (Québec) H3B 1A2

Credits : Brontë Poiré-Brest in UNFOLD | 7 perspectives by Le Carré des Lombes © Sylvie-Ann Paré - Chi Long in La Goddam Voie Lactée by MAYDAY © Cloé Pluquet - Rachel Harris, Sylvain Lafortune and Bernard Martin in BESIDE by maribé - sors de ce corps/Marie Béland © Montréal Danse - Rachel Harris, Bernard Martin and Sylvain Lafortune in RADIOMATON by maribé - sors de ce corps/Marie Béland © maribé - sors de ce corps/Marie Béland - Sophie Breton, Félix Cossette, Marie-Michelle Darveau, Sara Hanley, Kyra Jean Green, Jee Lam, Christopher LaPlante, Louis-Élyan Martin, Alexandre Morin, Nicolas Patry, James Philips and François Richard in Rhapsodie by Sylvain Émard Danse © Le Petit Russe - J'ai pleuré avec les chiens (TIME, CREATION, DESTRUCTION) by Daina Ashbee - Cara Roy in SANS RIEN FORCER by Hélène Remoué © Vanessa Fortin

OFF-FTA

Du 31 mai au 5 juin 2022

La 16e édition du Festival TransAmériques (FTA) aura lieu du 25 mai au 9 juin 2022.

Parallèlement à la programmation officielle, quatre compagnies membres de Circuit-Est et deux chorégraphes invitées organisent des activités artistiques pendant le festival, accessibles aux diffuseurs sur réservations.

Compagnies membres

UNFOLD | 7 perspectives
Le Carré des Lombes

Le 31 mai à 15 h 
Studio Jeanne-Renaud
Durée : 75 minutes
En savoir plus sur l'œuvre 
developpement@artcirculation.org

UNFOLD | 7 perspectives est à la fois un projet chorégraphique, scénographique et musical. Les trois formes de langages tissent des chaînes de forces et de tensions entre instabilité et mouvance, entre désordre et géométrie. Sept interprètes y partagent un goût pour l’expérientiel tout comme pour un engagement physique hors-norme dans un environnement en constante transformation.

La Goddam Voie Lactée
MAYDAY

Le 2 juin à 14 h 
Studio Jeanne-Renaud
Durée : 75 minutes
En savoir plus sur l'œuvre
airtable.com/shrJq9o56cmiWcNIv

En réaction à la rugosité du monde, à sa callosité et à ses aspérités, La Goddam Voie Lactée propose une messe païenne. Une célébration en guise de contestation. Inspirée par les deuils incessants que l’époque provoque, Mélanie Demers se lance dans une réflexion sur l’inachèvement. Petit big bang esthétique, La Goddam Voie Lactée est une façon de nous projeter dans l’univers imparfait et infini auquel nous appartenons toutes et duquel nous sommes toutes héritières.

BESIDE
Conférence-démonstration
maribé - sors de ce corps/Marie Béland

Le 2 juin à 15 h 45
Studio B
Extrait de 30 minutes
En coproduction avec Montréal Danse
En savoir plus sur l'œuvre
airtable.com/shr3vl2evx9RYJHtz

Équipé·es de casques d'écoute, les trois interprètes sont les seuls à entendre la retransmission des stations radio de la ville où la pièce est présentée. Afin de communiquer avec le public et les autres artistes, ils·elles n'ont d'autres choix que de répéter les informations diffusées dans leurs écouteurs, ou de reproduire une série de gestes tirée de nos émissions d'affaires publiques. Dépossédé·es de leurs corps et de leurs mots, ils·elles tentent d'habiter côte à côte (« beside ») et de construire cette crédibilité nécessaire pour transmettre un peu de vérité là où tout est faux. Si chaque représentation est unique puisqu'elle s'appuie sur la radio en direct, la chute est toujours la même : les médias poussent peu à peu les interprètes dans un vide. Reste à savoir si le public saura s'en extirper.

RADIOMATON
Installation participative
maribé - sors de ce corps/Marie Béland

Les 3 et 4 juin de 11 h à 15 h
à la Galerie POPOP
Pré-première
En coproduction avec Montréal Danse
En savoir plus sur l'œuvre
airtable.com/shr4OeTpglxwxrt1u

Installé·e dans une cabine indivuelle de type photomaton et équipé·e d’écouteurs diffusant une radio d’opinion locale, chaque utilisateur·rice de RADIOMATON doit répéter à voix haute tous les mots qu’il·elle entend, tout en reprenant des gestes qui lui sont télésoufflés. Cette performance filmée, mêlant des mouvements et des mots qui ne s'appartiennent pas, est ensuite remixée dans un kaléidoscope vidéo où tous·tes les participant·es s'entrecroisent.

Véritable expérience sensorielle et immersive, RADIOMATON questionne la construction de la vérité, la contamination médiatique, les « fake news » et le rôle du corps dans la perception des informations.

Rhapsodie
Sylvain Émard Danse

Le 3 juin à 15 h 30
Studio Jeanne-Renaud
Durée : 60 minutes
En savoir plus sur l'œuvre
www.spinnhirny.com/event-details/off-fta-rhapsodie

Mu·es par une énergie indomptable, 20 interprètes se retrouvent, encerclé·es par le public, témoin de la force du mouvement de masse qui se dessine. Hommage à la danse libératrice, Rhapsodie célèbre la pulsion de vie des êtres qui ne se regardent pas danser, l’abandon subversif des corps sur la piste de danse. Une décharge humaine qui frappe de plein fouet.

Chorégraphes invitées

J'ai pleuré avec les chiens
(TIME, CREATION, DESTRUCTION)

Daina Ashbee

Le 4 juin à 13 h 30
Studio A
Durée : 80 minutes
En savoir plus sur l'œuvre
management@dainaashbee.com

Dans sa première pièce de groupe, Daina Ashbee met en scène un troupeau humain qui oscille entre une intense physicalité et une touchante tendresse. La nudité expose la tension des muscles, mais aussi la vulnérabilité, l’ouverture et la transformation. Le point de départ est l’exploration d’une sensation : chercher du réconfort dans l’étreinte de son chien, hurler avec cette espèce de compagnon, plonger dans les états de corps canins. En même temps émerge un rituel de cohabitation et de dissolution des frontières, transitoire, fugitif - un espace dans lequel les êtres et les choses peuvent constamment changer. Avec une précision sobre, elle révèle sa marque de fabrique inimitable : la poétique de l’explosion et la puissance de la transe.

SANS RIEN FORCER
Hélène Remoué

Le 5 juin à 13 h 30
Studio A
Durée : 30 minutes
En savoir plus sur l'œuvre
heleneremoue@gmail.com

Pour devenir, il faut d’abord y croire. Solo au titre ironique, cette odyssée moderne emprunte autant à l’énergie survoltée des concerts de musique rock qu’à l’imaginaire et à la profondeur de nos rêves nocturnes. Le vent, les ombres et les lumières dessinent avec force et démesure le voyage grandeur nature de la danseuse sur scène. Laissant place à son idole intérieure, elle se transforme sous nos yeux. Des gestuelles viscérales, explosives et entraînantes émergent, révélant avec une puissance brute et magnétique un soi victorieux, acclamé et libéré. Une invitation à se découvrir colossal·e et grandiose, à la façon d’Hercule ou de Jimi Hendrix.

LES LIEUX

Studio Jeanne-Renaud
Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique, édifice Jean-Pierre-Perreault
2022, rue Sherbrooke Est, Montréal / Tiohtiá:ke (Québec) H2K 1B9

Studio A et B
Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique, espace Saint-André
1881, rue Saint-André, Montréal / Tiohtiá:ke (Québec) H2L 3T9

Galerie POPOP
Espace 442-444

372 rue Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montréal / Tiohtiá:ke, (Québec) H3B 1A2

Crédits : Brontë Poiré-Brest dans UNFOLD | 7 perspectives du Carré des Lombes © Sylvie-Ann Paré - Chi Long dans La Goddam Voie Lactée de MAYDAY © Cloé Pluquet - Rachel Harris, Sylvain Lafortune et Bernard Martin dans BESIDE de maribé - sors de ce corps/Marie Béland © Montréal Danse - Rachel Harris, Bernard Martin et Sylvain Lafortune dans RADIOMATON de maribé - sors de ce corps/Marie Béland © maribé - sors de ce corps/Marie Béland - Sophie Breton, Félix Cossette, Marie-Michelle Darveau, Sara Hanley, Kyra Jean Green, Jee Lam, Christopher LaPlante, Louis-Élyan Martin, Alexandre Morin, Nicolas Patry, James Philips et François Richard dans Rhapsodie de Sylvain Émard Danse © Le Petit Russe - J'ai pleuré avec les chiens (TIME, CREATION, DESTRUCTION) de Daina Ashbee - Cara Roy dans SANS RIEN FORCER de Hélène Remoué © Vanessa Fortin