PRISCILLA GUY + CAMILLE AUBURTIN | VIDEODANCE WORKSHOP

November 6 – 10, 2017  |  10 am – 6 pm

 

Proximity and intimacy

At a time where media circulation is intense, in which way do we see the body in movement? How can we define intimacy while cameras proliferate in our daily lives? What borders should be created between what’s intimate and what’s public? In this workshop, the notions of micro-choreography, self-representation and body-of-the-camera will be explored through movement sessions, film viewing, group discussions and camera work. Bringing together simultaneously dance and cinema, this work will focus on proximity, trust and ethics. It is a laboratory where the camera will become an extension of bodies and visions, and a meeting point between two people.

 

This workshop is intended for performers, choreographers, videomakers, filmmakers or artists interested by the meeting between movement and camera. Participants must register in pairs and have a camera (a smartphone is enough). This workshop is part of the first edition of Rencontres Internationales Regards Hybrides taking place from November 10 to 12, 2017 and dedicated to on-screen dance practices and speeches.

PUBLIC PRESENTATION IN JANUARY 2018, AT CIRCUIT-EST CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE

 

Priscilla Guy

Choreographer and film-maker, Priscilla Guy is director and founder of Mandoline Hybride, based in Montreal. Her repertory of eclectic works (in situ dance, videodance, stage performances) was presented internationally. Since 2012, she develops www.regardshybrides.com, a platform dedicated to the development of on-screen dance gathering resources and research tools and offering curator services as well as support for artists and presenters. Since 2013, she offers professional workshops at Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique with international artists. In the context of her artistic work, Priscilla pursues doctoral studies at Université de Lille SHS (France). Her research deals with self-representation of women on screen according to feminist perspectives.


Camille Auburtin

Camille Auburtin is a director and dancer based in Nouvelle-Aquitaine, France. She has been doing researches about the body and movement for 15 years through creative documentaries, experimental movies, artist portraits and mediation tools for dance. Since 2013, she develops an artistic approach in the prison environment and creates collective videodances with inmates from the Maison d’arrêt of Bordeaux-Gradignan. She takes interest in the tension existing in this context between inside and outside, and in the possible ways of liberation between body and camera in a prison. She currently works on an experimental documentary about her grandmother who is now 89 years old, a former ballet dancer suffering from Alzheimer’s disease. This film project describes the story of their relation, which started from the beginning, through the body and dance.

 

$140 /workshop  |  Studio Peter-Boneham – EJPP
With the financial support of Emploi-Québec and the collaboration of Regroupement québécois de la danse
[To access this rate, the participants have to be Canadian citizens or permanent residents in Canada and currently residing in Québec.]

As part of the Rencontres internationales Regards Hybrides, from November 10 to 12, a production of Mandoline Hybride presented by Tangente at Espace Danse Wilder.
Program and details: www.tangentedanse.ca

 

To register, please contact Daniel Villeneuve at 514 525-1569 or at info@circuit-est.qc.ca

 

Photo: Priscilla Guy – Camille Auburtin © B. Gonzalez

PRISCILLA GUY + CAMILLE AUBURTIN | ATELIER DE VIDÉODANSE

6 – 10 novembre 2017  |  10 h – 18 h

 

Proximité et intimité

Au cœur d’une circulation médiatique intense, quel regard posons-nous sur les corps en mouvement ? Comment se définit l’espace intime à l’ère de l’égo-portrait ? Quelle frontière tracer entre l’intime et le public ? Dans cet atelier, les notions de micro-chorégraphie, d’autoreprésentation et du corps-de-la-caméra seront explorées à travers des séances de mouvement, de visionnement de films, d’échange en groupe et de travail avec la caméra. La proximité, la confiance et l’éthique seront au centre d’un travail convoquant simultanément la danse et le cinéma. Il s’agit d’un laboratoire à échelle humaine où la caméra deviendra extension des corps, prolongement de la vision et point de rencontre entre deux personnes.

 

Cet atelier est destiné aux interprètes, chorégraphes, vidéastes, cinéastes et artistes intéressé(es) par la rencontre entre mouvement et caméra. Les participant(es) doivent s’inscrire en duo et posséder une caméra (un téléphone intelligent suffit). Cet atelier s’inscrit dans la première édition des Rencontres Internationales Regards Hybrides qui se déroulera du 10 au 12 novembre 2017 et qui se dédie aux discours et aux pratiques en danse à l’écran.

PRÉSENTATION PUBLIQUE EN JANVIER 2018, À CIRCUIT-EST CENTRE CHORÉGRAPHIQUE

 

Priscilla Guy

Priscilla Guy est chorégraphe et cinéaste. Elle est directrice de Mandoline Hybride, une compagnie basée à Montréal qu’elle fonde en 2007. Elle cumule un répertoire d’œuvres hétéroclites (danse in situ, vidéodanse, scène) qui sont présentées internationalement. Depuis 2012, elle développe www.regardshybrides.com, une plateforme dédiée au développement de la danse à l’écran rassemblant des ressources et outils de recherche, offrant également des services de commissariat et d’accompagnement pour les artistes et diffuseurs. Depuis 2013, elle offre des ateliers professionnels à Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique en compagnie d’invités internationaux. En marge de son travail d’artiste, Priscilla poursuit des études doctorales à l’Université de Lille SHS (France). Ses recherches portent sur l’autoreprésentation des femmes à l’écran depuis des perspectives féministes.


Camille Auburtin

Camille Auburtin est une réalisatrice et danseuse, basée en Nouvelle-Aquitaine. Elle cumule quinze années de recherche autour du corps et du mouvement à travers différents objets cinématographiques : documentaires de création, films expérimentaux, portraits d’artistes et outils de médiation autour de la danse. Depuis 2013, elle déploie une démarche de création en milieu carcéral et crée des vidéodanses collectives avec les détenu(e)s des quartiers hommes-femmes de la Maison d’arrêt de Bordeaux-Gradignan. Elle s’intéresse à la tension qui existe entre dedans/dehors dans ce contexte et aux stratégies d’émancipation possibles entre corps et caméra en prison. Elle travaille actuellement à la réalisation d’un documentaire expérimental de longue haleine sur sa grand-mère maintenant âgée de 89 ans, ex-danseuse classique et atteinte d’Alzheimer. Ce projet filmique est le récit sensible et intime de cette relation, qui s’est construite dès l’origine, par le biais du corps et de la danse.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

140 $ /atelier  |  Studio Peter-Boneham – EJPP
Avec le soutien financier d’Emploi-Québec et la collaboration du Regroupement québécois de la danse
[Pour avoir accès à ce tarif, les participants doivent être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents au Canada et être domiciliés au Québec.]

Dans le cadre des Rencontres internationales Regards Hybrides, du 10 au 12 novembre, une production de Mandoline Hybride, diffusée par Tangente à l’Espace Danse Wilder.
Programme et détails : www.tangentedanse.ca

 

Pour vous inscrire, contactez Daniel Villeneuve au 514 525-1569 ou à info@circuit-est.qc.ca

 

Photo : Priscilla Guy – Camille Auburtin © B. Gonzalez