ARCHIVES: 2017-2018 SUPPORTED ARTISTS

TECHNICAL RESIDENCIES

CLARA FUREY

With Cosmic Love, Clara Furey revolves around intuitive and poetic representations of physical phenomena, aiming for a heightened awareness of the senses. In a stripped-down performance space where all forms of communication become possible, the five performers move and pave the way for a participation-driven world, infused with synchronicity, where different forms of energy are shared.

With this work the choreographer, who considers art as a means of linking different entities around a spirituality that is free from dogmas, sets out to create links between mediums, beings and senses.

Depth must be hidden. Where? On the surface.
- Hugo von Hofmannsthal.

Cosmic Love
December 6 - 16, 2017
Danse Danse

 

Photo: Clara Furey, Winnie Ho © Francis Ducharme - Mathieu Verrault (graphic design)

 

JACQUES POULIN-DENIS

In front of us, a single person moves forward. She walks on a raised platform, a treadmill moving at different speeds under her footsteps. She walks, runs, strolls, escapes, crawls, rages. Like the laboratory rat who scrambles in a stationery wheel, she artificially passes through the statements and situations which define us as human beings. Running piece observes the irony which characterizes our contemporary age. It has us running constantly to catch our breath but also helps us to push our limits.  

Photo: Claudine Hébert © Xavier Curnillon

 

STUDIO RESIDENCIES

ANNE THÉRIAULT
Anne Thériault is pursuing her choreographic research to exalt bodies’ cinematography, stimulate senses and capture other’s imagination. With her research project Récital, initiated in 2015, she establishes choreographic, sound and visual conditions for three woman and three theremins, electronic musical instruments activated by the bodies’ proximity.

 

 

SARAH-ÈVE GRANT
Danse ta vie is the fourth part of a portrait series which explores the thin lines between biography and fiction. It is a portrait of the technical class taught by contemporary dancer Marc Boivin which will be performed by 12 dancers and one musician. This research offers an access to the dancer’s movements and virtuosity in a learning situation, exploring a daily and personal territory.

Photo: © Dominique Bouchard

 

SÉBASTIEN PROVENCHER
Children of chemistry challenges the mechanisms of the masculin gender’s social construction through popular culture and the sports world. By offering a refreshing and playful choreographic universe, Sebastien Provencher tackles masculinity and virility to rethink our conception of gender in public and scenic spaces.

Children of Chemistry
November 16 – 19, 2017
Tangente

Photo: Miguel Anguiano, Jossua Collin Dufour © Justine Latour

 

ERYN TEMPEST + CAMILLE LACELLE-WILSEY
Ghostbox is a dance piece, a super 8 video installation and a luminous space. Choreographed and performed by Eryn Tempest and Camille Lacelle-Wilsey, this piece explores the topics of appearance, disappearance and suspense in a shadowy universe inspired by movie, photography and the darkroom.

 

 

LOUIS-ELYAN MARTIN
There is a kind of human for whom rise to power becomes an irrational quest. No matter the obstacles to overcome and those who will endure their harmful effects, this man will reach the top to be in full possession of its domination. In TITANOMACHIE, Louis-Élyan Martin traces this insatiable path with a raw, instinctive and binding movement, with Promotheus’ myth as a background.

Photo: Louis-Elyan Martin © Svetla Atanasova

 

CAROLINE LAURIN-BEAUCAGE

For her new solo piece, Habiter sa mémoire 2, choreographer and dancer Caroline Laurin-Beaucage comes out of the studio and allows the public to discover her creative process in real time. For four uninterrupted hours, positioned inside a 12×12 foot box without walls, she plunges into the heart of her trajectory as a performer, striving to bring all of her body’s dance memories back to the surface. Sensors capture data on Caroline’s physical state and the surroundings atmosphere, and these are retransmitted live during the performance. Throughout the day, spectactors are invited to gather around the box as privileged witnesses of a work in continual development under the effects of time and the environment.

Photo: Caroline Laurin-Beaucage © Caroline Désilets

 

MENTORSHIP

BETTINA SZABO
Cuña
(from the Guarani language: women)
This project explores women’s perception of themselves and within society. Bettina is precisely interested in the phenomenon of Internalized Misogyny: women’s perpetuation of the western misogynistic and heteronormative discourse. For this exploration, she will be working with Rosie Contant, Kim Henri, Catherine Dagenais-Savard and Élise Bergeron, under mentorship of Angélique Willkie.

Photo: Catherine Dagenais-Savard, Pierre-Alexandre Savard © JayTse 

 

SUPPORT FOR ADVANCED TRAINING

Three dancers are invited to have complimentary access to all our activities. This year, our ten member companies offered a support for advanced training to Marilyne Cyr while Circuit-Est gave one to Charles Brecard and Chloé Ouellet-Payeur.

Photos : Charles Brécard © Olivia Nguyen - Chloé Ouellet-Payeur © Julie Artacho - Marilyne Cyr © Michael Slobodian

..........

.
Partner of our Support for Artists Program

..........

Photo: Louis-Elyan Martin © Svetla Atanasova

ARTISTES SOUTENUS 2017-2018

RÉSIDENCES TECHNIQUES

CLARA FUREY

Avec Cosmic Love, Clara Furey compose une pièce autour de représentations intuitives et poétiques de phénomènes physiques, encourageant un hyper-éveil des sens. Dans un espace scénique épuré dans lequel toute forme de communication devient possible, les cinq performeurs font vibrer l’espace et ouvrent un univers participatif infusé de synchronicité où divers partages énergétiques s’opèrent.

Considérant l’art comme un moyen de relier les entités entre elles, autour d’une spiritualité sans dogmes, la chorégraphe cherche à créer des liens entre les médiums, les êtres et les sens.

“Il faut cacher la profondeur. Où ça? À la surface.”
- Hugo von Hofmannsthal

Cosmic Love
6 – 16 décembre 2017
Danse Danse

Photo : Clara Furey, Winnie Ho © Francis Ducharme - Mathieu Verrault (design graphique)

 

JACQUES POULIN-DENIS

Devant nous, une personne seule avance. Elle marche sur une plateforme surélevée dont la surface, un tapis roulant, défile sous ses pas à des vitesses variables. Elle marche, court, flâne, s'enfuit, se traine et s'emporte. Tel un rat de laboratoire qui se démène dans sa roue stationnaire, elle parcourt artificiellement les états et situations qui nous définissent en tant qu'êtres humains. Aller/simple observe cette ironie de notre ère contemporaine qui nous entraine à sans cesse courir après notre souffle et qui du même pas nous pousse à nous dépasser nous-même. 

Photo : Claudine Hébert © Xavier Curnillon

 

RÉSIDENCES STUDIO

ANNE THÉRIAULT

Anne Thériault poursuit actuellement sa recherche chorégraphique afin d’exalter la cinématographie des corps, stimuler les sens et frapper l’imaginaire d’autrui. Avec le projet de recherche Récital entamé en 2015, elle met en place un climat chorégraphique, sonore et visuel pour trois femmes et trois thérémines, instruments de musique électronique activés par la proximité des corps.

 

SARAH-ÈVE GRANT
Danse ta Vie est le quatrième volet d’une série de portraits qui explore les fines limites entre la biographie et la fiction. Il s’agit d’un portrait de la classe technique de danse contemporaine enseignée par Marc Boivin et portée par 12 danseurs et un musicien. Cette recherche propose d'accéder aux mouvements et à la virtuosité du danseur en situation d’apprentissage, en explorant un territoire quotidien et intime.

Photo : © Dominique Bouchard

 

SÉBASTIEN PROVENCHER
Children of chemistry est une pièce qui questionne les mécanismes de construction sociale du genre masculin par le biais de la culture populaire et de l’univers sportif. En proposant un univers chorégraphique ludique et rafraichissant, Sébastien Provencher s’attaque à la virilité masculine et à l’hypermasculinité pour repenser notre conception du genre dans l’espace publique et scénique.

Children of Chemistry
16 – 19 novembre 2017
Tangente

Photo: Miguel Anguiano, Jossua Collin Dufour © Justine Latour

 

ERYN TEMPEST + CAMILLE LACELLE-WILSEY
Ghostbox est une pièce de danse, une installation vidéo super 8 et un espace lumineux. Chorégraphiée et interprétée par Eryn Tempest et Camille Lacelle-Wilsey, cette pièce explore les thèmes d’apparition, de disparition et de suspense dans un univers scénique obscure inspiré par le film, la photographie et la chambre noire.

 

LOUIS-ELYAN MARTIN
Il est une catégorie d’humains pour qui l’ascension au pouvoir devient une quête irrationnelle. Peu importe les obstacles à franchir ou ceux qui en subiront les effets néfastes, cet homme atteindra le sommet pour y jouir de sa domination. Avec TITANOMACHIE, Louis-Élyan Martin retrace ce chemin insatiable dans un mouvement brut, instinctif et contraignant, avec le mythe de Prométhée en arrière-plan.

Photo : Louis-Elyan Martin © Svetla Atanasova

CAROLINE LAURIN-BEAUCAGE

Dans Habiter sa mémoire 2, la chorégraphe et danseuse Caroline Laurin-Beaucage transporte son studio de création en extérieur et convie les spectateurs à assister en temps réel à la naissance de son prochain solo. Durant 4 heures, installée dans une boîte transparente sans murs, à l’image d’une maison, elle créé une danse qui la replonge au cœur de son parcours d’interprète d’où elle fera émerger toutes les traces et mémoires de son corps. Équipée d’un système de senseurs, elle captera des données sur l’environnement et son état physique qui seront retransmises en direct durant la représentation. Ces données factuelles sont donc juxtaposées à la poésie d’un corps dansant, qui se déploie en dialogue avec environnement, passants et spectateurs. Tout au long de la journée, les spectateurs peuvent s’installer autour de la boîte afin de s’immiscer dans l’intimité de l’artiste et se laisser imprégner par les élans de ses  souvenirs.

Photo : Caroline Laurin-Beaucage © Caroline Désilets

MENTORAT

BETTINA SZABO
Cuña (du guarani : femme)
Ce projet explore la perception qu’ont les femmes d’elles-mêmes en société. Bettina s’intéresse précisément au phénomène de la mysoginie intériorisée : la perpétuation du discours misogyne et hétéronormatif occidental par les femmes. Pour cette exploration, elle travaillera avec Rosie Contant, Kim Henri, Catherine Dagenais-Savard et Katie Philp, sous le mentorat d'Angélique Willkie.

Photo : Catherine Dagenais-Savard, Pierre-Alexandre Savard © JayTse 

 

SOUTIEN À L'ENTRAINEMENT

Trois interprètes sont invités à participer gratuitement à toutes les activités de la saison. Cette année, nos dix compagnies membres offrent un soutien à l'entrainement à Marilyne Cyr alors que Circuit-Est en attribue un à Charles Brécard et Chloé Ouellet-Payeur.

Photos : Charles Brécard © Olivia Nguyen - Chloé Ouellet-Payeur © Julie Artacho - Marilyne Cyr © Michael Slobodian

..........

.
Partenaire du programme de soutien aux artistes

..........

Photo : Louis-Elyan Martin © Svetla Atanasova